

То:	Legal Services Board			
Date of Meeting:	11 September 2013	Item:	Paper (13) 62	

Title:	Committee memberships
Author / Introduced by:	Julie Myers, Corporate Director Julie.myers@legalservicesboard.org.uk / 020 7271 0059 Adewale Kadiri, Corporate Governance Manager Adewale.kadiri@legalservicesboard.org.uk / 020 7271 0070
Status:	Unclassified

Summary:

The LSB's Scheme of Delegations reserves appointments to Board Committees to the Board. Owing to changes in Board membership, the Board needs to ratify membership of the Audit and Risk Committee and Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

Recommendation(s):

The Board is invited to formally approve:

- (1) The appointments of Terry Babbs and Anneliese Day QC to serve on the Audit and Risk Committee (replacing Andrew Whittaker who has stood down)
- (2) The appointment of Barbara Saunders to the Remuneration and Nomination Committee (replacing Nicole Smith)

Risks and mitigations		
Financial:	N/A	
Legal:	N/A	
Reputational:	N/A	
Resource:	N/A	

Consultation	Yes	No	Who / why?
Board Members:	✓		The members in question are aware of the proposal. The Committee Chairmen have also endorsed the proposals
Consumer Panel:		✓	
Others:			

Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FoI)					
Para ref	Fol exemption and summary	I summary Expires			
		N/A			

LEGAL SERVICES BOARD

То:	Legal Services Board			
Date of Meeting:	11 September 2013	Item:	Paper (13) 62	

Committee memberships

Introduction

- 1. This paper recommends
 - The appointment of two members, Terry Babbs (lay), and Anneliese Day QC (non-lay) as members of the Audit and risk Committee to replace Andrew Whittaker (non-lay) who has stood down.
 - 2) The appointment of Barbara Saunders (lay) to the Remuneration and Nomination Committee to replace Nicole Smith (lay).

Audit and Risk Committee

- Schedule 1, paragraph 20(3) of the Legal Services Act 2007 stipulates that only members of the Board may be members of a committee or sub-committee, and (4) goes on to state that a majority of the members of a committee or sub-committee must be lay persons.
- 3. The Audit and Risk Committee is currently composed of a lay Chair and two other members, one lay and one non-lay. Andrew Whittaker's and Barbara Saunders' terms of appointment on the Board both end on 31 March 2014, and it is deemed prudent to introduce new members at this stage to ensure continuity and a smooth transition.
- 4. Both Anneliese Day and Terry Babbs have agreed to become members of the Audit and Risk Committee, and the Chair of the Committee supports their appointments. Barbara Saunders will also remain on the Committee.

Remuneration and Nomination Committee

5. Nicole Smith's term of appointment on the Board ended on 31 March 2013. Barbara Saunders has agreed to serve on this Committee until her term ends in March 2014, at which point further consideration would be given to its composition in light of the skills and experience of new Board members.

Recommendation

- 6. The Board is invited to ratify:
 - 1) the appointments of Terry Babbs and Anneliese Day QC as members of the Audit and Risk Committee, and
 - 2) the appointment of Barbara Saunders as a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.